Honey, I just got us a sailboat!

20150629_202847-1

Just arriving home with our first sailboat

My name is Archie L Gilmer. I and my wife Pam obtained this 1976 Catalina 22 with a swing keel. We got it on the cheap and plan to restore it and sail it on our free time.

There are three problems with this plan. First, we don’t know anything about boats or how to work on the many things to do on this or any boat. Second, we don’t know how to sail. My wife and I have never been on a sailboat much less know anything about sailing. And finally the third problem is simply that we don’t have much free time to do any of this.

Well tackling the first problem is not too difficult. It is just a matter of learning as we go. Although I am expecting it to get a bit costly as we go but we will manage. I can learn how to do just about anything and my wife has always been a great help.

As far as our knowledge of sailing, we plan to get in touch with an ASA sailing school near us. We have plenty of time to take lessons and get some practice in before our boat will be ready to sail.

And as far as having the time to do all of this, well we will just have to work that out. If we wait until we have the time and money, we will never get there. Since this is our first sailboat, I am not in too big of a hurry to get it going. There is much to do and if I try to rush the job, I will just get discouraged and give up on it.

So as we make our progress, we will be posting blogs here at this site as well as some youtube videos of some of the things we have done and learned.

Feel free to send us some comments and even some advise. We could always use wisdom from those who have gone down this road. Thanks and God bless you all!

Leave a Reply

